Are Hypoallergenic products safer?


Are “Hypoallergenic” products really allergy free?

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration says that there is no federal standards or regulations to govern the use of the term “hypoallergenic”. This term may be applied without any proof that the product causes fewer allergic reactions than others. The manufacturers themselves are responsible for carrying out any  tests they feel are necessary for their packaging and advertising.

This statement would lead us to believe that “Hypoallergenic” on the label is just a marketing tool  and has very little meaning. The FDA also does not require that all cosmetic ingredients be listed on product labels. So consumers have no way of avoiding certain chemicals they know they have an allergic reaction to. I have tried calling the consumer 800 numbers for products and still have not been able to get the true ingredients.

On the other hand, I have always had better luck with products marked “hypoallergenic” than the ones that are not marked this way. Just eliminating the heavy perfumes helps my allergies to a certain extent. Read more details at Allergy Comfort Zone

2 Responses

  1. I haven’t been as lucky with products that are listed as Hypoallergenic. The only products I can use come from my dermatologist.They are very expensive and I don’t really like them very much. I keep thinking I will grow out of this skin allergy thing. I’m 58 I wonder when that will be?

    Like

    • Hi Julie,

      My mother actually seemed to grow out of her “hay fever.” I remember she was about 60 and it just went away. She has also had skin allergies all her life and she still has them. I keep waiting for a spontaneous cure for my skin allergies also. Since I’m allergic to textile dyes and detergents, I guess I could join a nudest camp. But then where would I sit or sleep for that matter, without touching anything with my skin.

      Like

Leave a Reply

