Allergic to Christmas trees?


Yes, both real and artificial trees can cause allergies because they have dust and mold on them. Dust and mold are a few of the main causes of allergic reactions in humans. Real Christmas trees are cut months before we see them on the lots. They are wrapped and stacked in close and sometimes damp areas where they can pick up mold spores.

Pollen on Christmas trees is usually not a problem for allergy suffers. Most of the type of trees seen on Christmas tree lots pollinate in the Spring. If you cut down your own tree, make sure it is not a type that pollinates in November and December. Even Christmas trees that are cut fresh in the woods can have mold growing on them or have pollen from other types of trees trapped on their branches. Read about ways to prevent Christmas tree allergies.

3 Responses

  1. i would like to have your blog by e.mail .having lot trouble .can you
    help please,

    my e.mail mkentdad12@outlook.com

    mark

    Like

    • Hi Mark, my apologies for the delayed response. I will add you as a subscriber. Please let me know if you do not receive the posts. Best, Erika

      Like

  2. My husband grows Christmas trees and I am so aware of this allergy. I have multiple chemical and environmental allergies in addition. I know of other Christmas tree growers wives that cannot tolerate the trees inside. It also bothers me when my husband cuts, trims or basically works in the trees of course. Also the artificial trees pick up allergens just from storing them. At first there is the new smell when you first buy the tree. Then dust and mold gets picked up as time goes by.. Quite a connundrum!!!I didn’t put a tree up the past few years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

