Itchy new clothes cause rashes


It’s back to school and all those new Fall clothes that cause itchy skin and rashes. I can remember as a child hating new back-to-school clothes because they itched so much. I always had problems with sensitive skin rashes. My mother didn’t know to wash all new clothes several time and double rinse before putting them on my sensitive skin. She just thought I was a complainer and a “drama queen”.

Even today as an adult, I always wash all my new clothes three times with dye-free and fragrance-free detergent and double rinse before wearing. Some highly processed fabrics and very dark textile dyes still make me break out in rashes after this 3-wash treatment. Synthetic fabrics are colored with dyes that tend to irritate skin more than the dyes used for natural fabrics.

If clothes are labeled as wrinkle-free or stain-resistant, be very hesitant to purchase them if you or your child has sensitive skin. Your clothing may be processed with formaldehyde.  Many people are allergic to formaldehyde . It takes many, many washings for these finishes to “wear” off. The clothes will look old and worn out before you can even safely wear them.

I always recommend wearing dye-free thin 100% cotton or 100% silk long underwear or t-shirts under suspect clothing. http://cottonique.com has some great cotton things for adults and children. I also recommend http://wintersilk.com for silk long underwear for children and adults.

If you have problems with allergy to the labels printed on the garments. Try my trick of using Wintergreen Oil. Brush it on the tagless label and let it sit for about 10 minutes. then use a tooth-brush to remove the loosened and dissolved bits of the  tagless tag. Then wash the garment as usual. Wintergreen oil is non-toxic when used for removing labels in this manner. This method has worked successfully for me and many others on many types of printed labels.

Please leave a comment below if you have more hints. If you would like to learn more about skin allergies and how you can make them easier to live with visit my Allergy Comfort Zone Skin Allergies Store.

9 Responses

  1. I’m glad that I’ve found this allergycomfortzone.com site. I feel that you are a professional at your work! I am starting a website soon, and your info will be very useful for me.. Thanks for all your help and wishing you the success in your business.

    Like

  2. Hey – nice blog, just trying around some blogs, seems a fairly nice platform You Are using. I’m currently using Drupal for a few of my websites however seeking to change one in all them over to a platform very a lot the same to yours as a trial run. Anything specifically you would suggest about it?

    Like

    • WordPress works well for me. This template is easy to add widgets to. I have tried more complicated templates and found them beyond my skill level.

      Like

  3. What a good post . I love reading these types or articles. I can ? T wait to see what others are saying.

    Like

  4. I truly find this a interesting subject. Never looked at this subject in this manner. If you are planning to create more articles relating to this subject, I definitely will be back in the near future!

    Like

  5. Hi,
    I am quite impressed with this site and the contributions. I am happy that I am part of this site and I wish to contribute regularly.
    Thanks

    Like

  6. I truly wanted to write down a quick remark to thank you for these pleasant secrets you are showing at this website. My time-consuming internet lookup has at the end been rewarded with really good know-how to go over with my contacts. I ‘d express that we readers actually are undoubtedly blessed to dwell in a fantastic community with many outstanding individuals with insightful concepts. I feel rather grateful to have used the web site and look forward to tons of more cool times reading here. Thank you once more for all the details.

    Like

  7. I also break out in a rash whenever I wear new clothes. I hate to wash them before I wear them. It kinda defeats the purpose of new clothes. What about dry cleaning clothes? Good blog by the way, I’ve been reading for a while, finally got up enough nerve to comment. Keep up the good work.

    Like

    • Dry cleaning clothes can create another problem, many people are allergic to dry cleaning fluids. I always wear silk long underwear under dry cleaned trousers to protect my legs. Most of my dry cleanable tops are jackets that I wear washable blouses or t-shirts under anyway. I wash all my wool and cashmere sweaters by hand using Woolite. They really don’t need to by dry cleaned and they smell better.
      Thanks for commenting, Dayne

      Like

Leave a Reply

