I’m having problems trying to eat all organic food


I have been wondering if the pesticides in my foods have anything to do with my skin allergies. I changed my breakfast cereal from GoLean (which contains GM soy) to Natures Path an organic cereal. I have also been trying to eat more organic foods. It’s not easy and it definitely is not cheap.

Organic foods are expensive and I can’t seem to find everything I eat in organic. I am lucky to live in an area with a lot of food sources. We have Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, many Farmers Markets, even my local supermarket has a large organic section. What’s my problem? Eating organic limits my access to my favorite things to eat. When you can’t find one ingredient you need and substitute something non-organic the whole meal becomes non-organic. I guess it’s best to use organic products when you can especially the worst offenders.

I have found some foods are more pesticide laden than others. They are called the dirty dozen. Here is link to a handy shopping guide: http://www.ewg.org/foodnews/?tag=2012FoodnewsAd&gclid=CMOH-e2turICFYyPPAodkU8ABA A quick run down of the worst offenders in the food world: Apples, Celery, Sweet Bell Peppers, Peaches, Strawberries, Nectarines, Grapes, Spinach, Lettuce, Cucumbers, Blueberries and Potatoes.

Also I believe we should be concerned about Genetically Modified Foods. Here is a list of GM food to be watch for (GMO are not labeled in the U.S.): Rapeseed oil (Canola Oil), Honey produced form GM crops, Cotton, Rice, Soybean, Sugar Cane, Tomatoes, Corn (Used for animal feed, Oil, Sweeteners and Soft Drinks), and Sweet Corn, Potatoes, Flax Oil, Papaya, Squash, Meat, Peas, Sugar Beets and Dairy Products.

How can the public make informed decisions about genetically modified (GM) foods when there is so little information about its safety?

According to the FDA and the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), there are over 40 plant varieties that have completed all of the federal requirements for commercialization.

Future planned applications of GMOs are diverse and may include drugs in foods, for example, bananas that produce human vaccines against infectious diseases such as Hepatitis B, metabolically engineered fish that mature more quickly, fruit and nut trees that yield years earlier, and plants that produce new plastics with unique properties.

“History has many records of crimes against humanity, which were also justified by dominant commercial interests and governments of the day. Despite protests from citizens, social justice for the common good was eroded in favour of private profits. Today, patenting of life forms and the genetic engineering which it stimulates, is being justified on the grounds that it will benefit society, especially the poor, by providing better and more food and medicine. But in fact, by monopolising the ‘raw’ biological materials, the development of other options is deliberately blocked. Farmers therefore, become totally dependent on the corporations for seeds.” – Professor Wangari Mathai.

Citation: Disabled World News (2009-09-22) – Genetically modified foods information including list of GM foods with dna changes and pros and cons of GM food: http://www.disabled-world.com/fitness/gm-foods.php#ixzz26e66RZHD

One Response

  1. This is very intriguing, You are a quite skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to looking for far more of your wonderful post. Also, I’ve shared your internet web site in my social networks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

