Does Grandma know best?


I will not take credit for this advice. I found it in my local newspaper in the Peoples Pharmacy column by Joe and Terry Graedon.  I hope I am giving them enough credit for this advice.

I often write about eczema, contact dermatitis and other skin rashes, this advice from grandmothers may help some people. I find “Old Wives Tales”, “Grandma’s Wit” and “Grandma’s Remedies” to be very helpful. If you think about it, a lot of our “modern” treatments are based on these old remedies (with a lot of added preservatives and added cost).

Here are a few from the Peoples Pharmacy

1. For eczema try mixing a non-scented simple lotion like baby lotion with olive oil. Rub on the affected area three times a day. After your shower or bath and two other times. It is supposed to clear up eczema in two weeks.

My experience: I tried using olive oil and lotion several years ago, it did make my dry skin skin feel better, but the greasiness of the oil and the olive oil smell turned me off.

2. Another remedy I haven’t tried yet, but I plan to starting today. Drink Oolong tea. I don’t know how much you need to drink, but it is supposed to help in four weeks. This shouldn’t be too hard for me to do because Oolong tea is my favorite tea.

Hope this helps with your eczema. Visit the Peoples Pharmacy, it is very interesting to read the articles.

Share your Grandma’s Wit with us, maybe it will help someone. Please comment below.

Leave a Reply

