Let me introduce myself


Erika Ladouceur - pic

Dear readers,

As Dayne has mentioned in her latest post, she has passed along her blog to me and will be writing guest posts when she has time. I came across AllergyComfortZone when looking for information about contact dermatitis, as I live with numerous environmental allergies to dust, mold, dust and pets and often react to chemicals, moisturizing creams, hair products and soaps as well as life threatening food allergies and asthma. I feel honored to continue what Dayne has created, a community of readers just like you, looking to discuss useful information about allergies, find allergy comfort solutions, products and share experiences.

I am 24, and live in British Columbia, Canada. Originally from Montreal, I have traveled a fair bit and dealt with many situations that one cannot always anticipate.  I am extremely excited to get to know you; to find out what questions you have about products, lifestyle changes and allergies, or any other questions you may have! I do have other blogs on food allergies and asthma, thus my posts here will mostly discuss contact dermatitis and eczema.  As I am still in the midst of figuring out the “behind the scenes” stuff, I will keep this first post short.

I invite you to send me a message, (the email has stayed the same) or perhaps share a comment right here, with topics you are interested in.

I am thrilled to be joining this community!

Best,

Erika Ladouceur

2 Responses

  1. Hello Erika, I’m glad to see you taking over. Dayne has had a lot of very helpful information over the past couple of years since I found her site. I’m a guy in my early 60’s and never had any allergy problems until about 2 years ago. I broke out in an itchy rash on my shins and then it spread onto my forearms, hands and back.
    After going to my Dr, then a Dermatologist and an Allergist and getting biopsied and tested. My doctor prescribed a steroid that did help clear it up some at first but it’s effect seemed to lessen as time went on.
    The results of the testing diagnoses… contact dermatitis caused by allergies to: soaps, dyes, fabrics, chemicals and so on and so on. My mission was to avoid these 200 things!

    I’ve tried many products and have had some success but just as many unsuccessful results of treatments and products. It’s good to know that I’m not alone as a sufferer.
    I look forward to future posts and vital information from you.
    thanks,
    Dave H

    Like

    • Hi Dave,

      Thanks for your message and for sharing your story. I want to share as much as I possibly can as I know Dayne was great at sharing helpful information. I am sorry to hear that diagnosis took some time, however it is great that you know what you are dealing with. Many of us have gone through the same process with itchy rashes and hives that are hard to understand or come at you from out of the blue. Knowing what you are dealing with usually makes it easier to cope. To be honest, I find it overwhelming on many days especially when having to change soaps and other products on a regular basis because either ingredients change or the product no longer exists. Avoidance really is key, as you know, and it can be really tough. Like you mentioned, some products work, and others don’t. I also have found that more often than not, the treatments and products won’t work. In keeping our head up and charging ahead, we often find the correct solution in the end.

      I have found that staying positive and trying make light of the situation has helped me get through some more frustrating times. It’s a little busy with the holidays coming up right now, but I do have a few posts lined up and hope I can share some helpful information.

      If you have anything in particular you are interested in hearing about, please let me know. 🙂

      Happy Holidays,
      Erika

      Like

Leave a Reply

