• Allergy Topics

  • Top Allergy Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 840 other subscribers
  • Allergy Comfort Zone

  • My Tweets

Help for Fall Allergies


Fall allergies are just around the corner. You know they are coming and you know you suffer. What can you do to relieve your symptoms?

fall-leafKeep your house free of pollen

Your house should be your sanctuary, keep it free of pollen.

Keep dust at bay in your house, use a HEPA filter on your vacuum cleaner.

Leave your shoes at the door

Keep windows and doors closed, use air conditioner when possible

Re circulate air in you car instead of bringing in fresh pollen laden air

Change filter in you furnace and air conditioner

Wash your clothes and hair after being outdoors, you don’t want pollen from your clothes or hair on your bedding or furniture

Dry your clothes in a clothes dryer, not outside

Stay inside on windy days, pollen can travel for miles

Use a Neti Pot or saline rinse daily to clean out nasal tissues.

Hope these hints help make your Fall more comfortable.

2 Responses

  1. I seem to be allergic to ALL chemicals. This has just happened in the past couple of years. I never have any visible irritation to my skin though. It just itches unbearably and eventually starts stinging. I am in sales and have to fill out paper work all day. The ink causes me great pain. I don’t know what to do as I haven’t been able to find a different career. I take allergy medication and advil to get through the day. Is the ink going to cause me permanent neurological damage if I continue to be exposed to it?

    Like

    • What a terrible thing to have to put up with. It seems your system is super sensitive to all irritants. If I was you, I would try to limit the exposure. Try wearing long sleeves and (don’t laugh) fingerless cotton gloves. If you have to fill out forms in front of your clients, that might be a bit embarrassing.

      Another suggestion: I have used this successfully. Try Gloves in a Bottle. http://www.glovesinabottle.com/
      If you are not allergic to this product it may help you. I can wear clothes that irritate my skin for a few hours, if I use Gloves in a Bottle on my skin first.
      Good Luck

      Like

Leave a comment